madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Day 3

The best day of the festival! I still battled a headache but managed to keep it subdued with painkillers!
My first activity was a foraging walk - Vegan Jo didn't get home till 4am so she joined me later! The walk was just the best! Found Sorrell which tasted of lemon and apple peel and Sea Arrow Grass which tasted of coriander! Also a use for dandelion petals - make a syrup that tastes like butterscotch! What a super way to start the day! I bumped into a Calstock couple as I was showing The Three Amigos the wire elephant. They had been leading Circus skills workshops the whole weekend. It's been a while since I've seen them and we had a great chat until it was time to meet Vegan Jo.
I waited infront of the house and ate a Rhubarb and Cream Soda  Sorbet until Jo joined me and had the same! We had some lunch - Lobster roll with Fennel for me - divine! We watched the people having fun in the mud of The River Tiddy as we ate! We then went to our paper flower making Workshop. The organisers had made a muck up of the times so it was just 3 of us and what a lovely time we had! The other woman was French, living in the UK for 12 years and had a business making clothes from recycled plastics - apparently they employed divers to retrieve the plastic and the material feels like silk! We had a wide ranging conversation interspered by the course leader giving us instructions! It was a lot easier than making spoons! The Three Amigos were a great hit with the course leader and had fun playing in the flowers! There was a sticky bit right at the end when my flower head came off its stalk and it looked like a glue gun might have to be used -The Three Amigos were very excited at the thought of using it but unlucky for them it wasn't needed!!
After the course we took down my Hippy Hut tent and took it and some some metal flowers I'd bought back to the car, we also had a good look at all the different accomodation - dice and card tents, old fashioned tents, airstreams and gypsey caravans! Then we met up with The French Dweller and Party Girl and went to listen to Russel Brand in interview. He was his usual verbose and erudite self - I had to hand my camera to the man infront of me to get a photo as the event was packed with people - I couldn't even get in the tent! He spoke about ego (his!)  and his views on politics, religion, the way forward! At the ned there were a few questions and he was asked what had changed his life around - he said pain and finding love! Fatherhood certainly suits him. After this we went for a drink at The Cow saloon - The Three Amigos were very happy about this! 
By this time hunger struck and we headed off to find food - a Bannoffee Crepe for me! By this time we were all feeling a little washed out and were thinking of going home, but I quickly dived into the main stage tent to isten to the main act. Oh My Word! They were stupendous! A quartet from Kiev called DakhaBrakha. They looked beautiful and their music was just as beautiful - ranging from poignant folksongs with bird calls to powerful drumming and amazing vocals, folow the link to hear the birds! It's a long intro with the bird calls then it just builds! . I ran back to tell the others to come and listen and we spent the next hour dancing to them! The best end to the weekend! 
More photos here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.