madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Nearly Goodbye!

I should have sent The 3 Amigos off to their next host yesterday. I'd found a great  new box for them  and had given them a final grooming session and as you can see had trouble getting them to stay in the box! Unfortunatly I had a bit of a stressful emergency and wasn't able to send them until today!
On sunday night after the gig when the lights came on, I noticed strange comet like streaks in the corner of my right eye. I thought it was something happening outside and asked the others what they were! Well I was the only one who was seeing them! They were not painful and were not like the lights I sometimes get with migraines. They were a little worrying however! I was able to drive home ok and went to bed and in the morning they were gone. But in the eve back they came! I was going to google them but thought if it turned out they were something worrying I would not sleep so left it till the morning! Good job I did as they could be signs of a detached or torn retina!
Having made an appointment with my optician I found a message from Nellie of The Woods saying she was coming into the village and would stop for coffee. I messaged back asking if she could take me to my appointment as I wouldn't be able to drive after the eyedrops I would have, and after an hour rang her. Barry was there and said she was still out! He also told me he had had the same and as part of the treatment his head had been immobilised! Well as if I wasn't anxious enough as it was! I get panicky in any enclosed situation! He said if Nellie wasn't back in time he would take me bless him.
Nellie turned up as I was giving Oscar his morning walk, so she walked with me and then had a coffee and we chatted about what we had seen and done at the festival. She then set off for her walk home and I said `I would wait outside at the alloted time to be picked up so that Oscar wouldn't get barky at being left on what he would see as a jolly! Well the doorbell rang and it was Barry! Oops! I should have phoned him to say Nellie was with me and able to drive me!
Anyway - I got there and immediatly had the puff of air in the eye test then eyedrops - I was verging on panic by this point! But since the eyedrops were the most painful part and I then had to do the spot the light test, my attention was caught and I felt much calmer! The optician then inspected my eye and said he would check the other one and see if the same thing was happening! What was happening to the other eye I wanted to shriek! Turns out it was detaching! As long as the lights didn't worsen or a grey veil go across my eye there was nothing to be done - just another thing getting old  causes! It could also have been caused by a knock or car accident - well I've fallen over numerous times since getting Oscar, still occassionaly bang my head on the eaves in my attic bedroom  and often trip up on the allotment, plus I had the car accident!   It was good to know that the floaters I'd been seeing for a couple of months were related also - and sadly are here to stay! 
I spent the rest of the day quietly and congratulated myself on getting through the whole expeience without tipping into panic! I'm still hypersensitive to any sensation in my body and going blind has always been a fear since childhood so it was a stressful morning!
Anyway - today after Oscar had had his play with Ivy in the field I sent The 3 Amigos on their way! I have so loved having them and I think they had fun with me and I had so much fun getting photos of them and am so relieved I didn't lose or damage them!! Thank you to [url=https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2603399470641055843]Kelso[/url] for allowing me to host them and I look forward to following their continued journey around the world!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.