CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Unknown flyer on an unknown flower

I managed to get outside today and walked/hobbled down the steps to the main patio. I slung my camera round my neck on the off chance of some slightly different views or subjects as my days in the house have become a bit restricting.

I spotted various small insects feeding on the wing or just crawling over plants and their flowers. One surprise was a small all white spider which had tied up some of the tiny Sollya Heterophylla flowers in a web, where it had laid its tiny round white eggs. I tried to get close up to it, pivoting on my one good leg, but it seemed to watch my movement and always moved round to the far side of the flowers to 'hide'. That impressed me and I've decided to try to catch a picture another time.

This small insect seemed to move from flower to flower and leaf to leaf. When it flew it moved quite slowly and was happy to land to check for pollen. But I think it was also prospecting for a place to lay its own eggs, possibly through its tail end, or what I have heard called an ovipositor. I hope someone will let me know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.