pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

A splash of colour

I have been a fan of Jim Carrey since I was a teenager. 

From the insanity of Ace Ventura (must have watched it at least a million times) and The Mask, through to gentler fare such as The Truman Show and The Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind and most recently the brilliant tv show; Kidding, parts of which resoundingly resonated with me.

His Sammy Davis Jr impression from his stand up days, is also a joy to behold.

In the last couple of years when he himself was going through a tough time and feeling low in the middle of a bleak winter, he put out a short called I Needed Color (not my preferred spelling of the word), which really stayed with me, not only the content of the video itself, but it's title. 

I love black and white imagery and exploring the darker side of things, but sometimes, just sometimes you do NEED colour (my preferred spelling of the word) splashed across your life and that's why this picture (pictured) made by my eldest has really grown on me. She's been obsessed with Queen since watching Bohemian Rhapsody and made this picture as part of a school project. 

Whilst I love the iconic, central image, I wasn't mad keen on the colours to begin with, but I've since spent a lot of time in the same room as this picture and now I wouldn't be without this lavish splash which is a nice reminder that a) few have burned as bright as Freddie and b) I have a very talented daughter who put some colour back in my life.

This will be the first thing I put up in my new home!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.