Golf Course

I found a public footpath that I hadn't noticed before.  It led under the railway line and into a very attractive open area with many trees.  It had obviously once been well tended, but appeared to have been left for quite a while.

Then I noticed a bent and overgrown sign:  "Hole 4" with details of the length and labelled PAR 4.  It was then I realised I had wandered on to the back of the local golf course which had ceased trading some time ago. It is a large attractive area, which I think housing developers have their eyes on.  This lovely open space would be a sad loss to the town (even though it is not currently in use) and, if filled with new housing, would add significantly to the size of the town.

Hopefully I will return and enjoy the area while it is still in its current state.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.