Arete

This morning I drove up to the mountains hoping to get some nice snowy peaks shots. However, the light was poor and the peaks with the heavy snow vanished into the white sky. The bare rocks along the Arete were the exception. Here a narrow strip peeps over the top of a snow-clad foothill. The Gap is just left of centre.

The extra shot is of the road up to Porters Pass. I like the way the road in the foreground lines up with the road higher up.

The air up there was very fresh. I heard a grey warbler, a magpie and a chaffinch. When I’d walked around the bend out of sight of my car a couple of cops in a police car stopped to ask if I was all right. The things we do for Blip.

After lunch, when I was back home, the sky cleared to a beautiful blue. Though by that time the mountains were in silhouette because of the low sun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.