A good read!

I put today’s washing on the line (in hope!) before breakfast, uploaded last night’s video’s from the Trail camera which is situated behind our summerhouse, then began gardening.
The sun came out for awhile and it was warm on my face. We do have intermittent drifts of clouds, but so far it seems a bit more settled.
The heavy downpours of yesterday late afternoon freshened the air.
Our patio window was partly misted up on the outside when I got up at 6.45am to make a drink before wandering up the garden to get the trail camera card.
It actually felt like September, and the lavender which hangs over the path, gave off it’s soothing aroma as I brushed past.
On viewing last night’s video’s once on the laptop, there was such a lot of hedgehog activity! It was quite funny at times, as the interloper hedgehog was back with a vengeance and so determined to eat some of the tasty meal worms that he braved all the huffing and posturing to actually sit in the dish!
Nothing the other one could do except keep giving him a Paddington Bear hard stare ( for a hedgehog) and huff at him.
I have now decided the smaller one is a female as the larger “interloper” eventually began to make what passed for amorous intentions wanting to sniff her rear!
And I have discovered that hedgehogs do mate, (no delicate way to put this!) by mounting the female!!
(I’ll draw a veil over whether he enjoys it or not!! )
So here I am having made inroads into dead-heading, pruning and hedge clipping, sitting with my book in the summerhouse.
Off to have my haircut later this afternoon.
Hubby has just given me the mail and our new French book club choice has arrived! We all decided we needed something much less depressing than the last one, and more of a “holiday read” till we meet again in September.
So “Bonjour Tristesse” it is and the content not at all like the title!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.