Princess Marina

My dad was a civil engineer. Dams were his thing, he built them all over the world. When I say build, he didn't move earth or pour concrete, the contractors did that. He was responsible for the design and on-site engineering. As far as I'm aware, none of them have collapsed. OK, there was that that one in Glen Garry, when we saw huge girders and great chunks of concrete washing down the river after a huge storm, but that was before it was signed off so it doesn't count. I suppose his haven't been standing in a valley holding water for two hundred years yet so it's hard to know how long they'll last. they are built of reinforced concrete though, not mud with a puddled clay core, like the one at Whaley Bridge. I have to say, because of my background of familiarity with dams (without any proper knowledge) I was quite shocked by the news when I heard it this morning. I do hope that a collapse will be averted and the people can soon return to their homes.

I went in to Dawlish earlyish and was rewarded with a flat calm sea. I took this blip from the path down from Lea Mount and it shows the breakwater with the Princess Marina steaming in to pick up passengers from the pier at Dawlish Seawall for a trip round the bay.

Tomorrow's a big day for the Bishopsteignton Commitments. We're on the big outdoor stage at the Teignmouth Carnival tomorrow. Looking forward to it lots!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.