Gateway

After my class this morning I went down to the lake again and sat on the little jetty with my harps and my notes for tonight's performance. The piece we're doing has the potential for a complete train wreck and I was determined that if the train went off the rails it wasn't going to be me that derailed it. The piece was a 12 bar blues, a simple music form and the intention was that we started together to create 'the groove' and then our tutor, Grant, a lovely relaxed American guy from Seattle, would keep the groove going while we separated off and each improvisedon 2 bars and then the next person would play the next two and so on. When we got to the end of the 12 bars, it skipped forward one place so that the next person did the opening 2 bars and it would carry on with us all playing the 2 bars further on than we previously played. Did I clarify that? Probably not but I hope you realised the potential for disaster.

It went round, some people weren't ready when their turn came, but Grant somehow kept us all in line and it stayed on the track, just! I think I did OK I'm pleased to say, I think I was ready and played in all the right places and I thought I made my harp sound good. Sadly, no recording exists as far as I know so I'm afraid you'll have to take my word for it!

We were second act on for that one and it was good to get it behind me. The next piece I was involved was the finale. Traditionally the vocal class goes on last because nobody wants to follow that. We did two pieces, both in a gospel style. The first was a piece called 'Who Threw the Whiskey' in the Well', a story of mystery and intrigue at the church. The second was a belting gospel piece originally done by Mahalia Jackson, 'Elijah Rock' which we arranged with lots of quiet and loud passages building up to a 'raise the roof' last chorus after which we faded out as we walked off the stage in a 'Madness' or 'Blues Brothers' style. Great fun!

Although the week hasn't officially ended, there are classes tomorrow but those who have travel a distance will be leaving early. I know the traffic will be awful on my way so I'll get on the road before lunch having enjoyed a great week in very good company. I think that 'Gateway' is appropriate as the title of my blip because I hope I'll be able to develop the new skills I've gained and take them further over the next year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.