flavia13

By flavia13

KNOTT END

Hi all

A pleasant day out with Mum again.  Just Mum and I.  Mum and Dad used to love to get the bus to Knott End from Lancaster and Mum hasn't been for many years.  

Knott End
Knott End to Fleetwood Ferry

So I drove her over there.  The parking by the ferry is FREE, we then went into the Knott End Cafe for a coffee before getting the ferry over to Fleetwood, something I'd never done before.  It only takes about 10 minutes.

Knott End is at the southern end of Morecambe Bay and across the Wyre Estuary from Fleetwood.  

We spent about an hour and a half in the Fleetwood Museum - which is an interesting little museum.  Not for children though as nothing interactive but interesting as it tells the story of Fleetwood, especially in it's fishing heyday.
Fleetwood

Fleetwood also has an out of town retail outlet (a mall) but I'm not into that sort of thing s wasn't interested in that.

It was so hot and sultry we did a little walk along the esplanade but couldn't see Morecambe or the Lake District well as it was very hazy.  

Fleetwood, to me, appears to be a little faded now, but to be fair I only saw a part of the esplanade and the ferry.  It has a pleasant small park in front of the very large North Euston Hotel.  There is also an inland Lighthouse, which I think is no longer in use.  As well as myself flagging due to the heat Mum was getting a bit tired, so I will have to go back on my own sometime with the camera.  Apparently it has an art deco theatre which I would love to explore.

Looking forward to seeing your blips.  Hope you've all had a good day.  Continued hope and thoughts sent to all in Whaley Bridge and huge amounts of respect for all the services and people doing so much to try and stop the dam from bursting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.