Another new species for me!

Mr U&L and I went to the seaside town of Bexhill today to clean his grandparents gravestone, something we have been meaning to do for the last 2 years, since we found it had been laid flat on the ground and was in dire danger of being smothered and lost forever in grass and soil. 
After we had finished at the cemetery we drove home via the coast road, stopping off at Beachy head to admire the view and eat a 99 ice cream. While we were at Beachy head I went for a quick look round the car park and found this amazing Horse fly feeding on the thistles.
This is the Four-lined horsefly Atylotus rusticus  which is another red data book 1 species,  which occurs mainly in costal grazing marshes between Lewes and Bexhill - just where I was when I found it! This one is a male, so no risk of my being bitten, he was just interested in nectar!
On my way back I was entertained by a beautiful Wall butterfly , a species I don't see often, so I have added a shot in my extras for you all to enjoy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.