Tanner beetle

Yesterday evening Robyn's partner text her a picture of a beetle he had seen in the local bus station. She showed the shot to me and thinking it was a stag beetle I rushed down to rescue it before someone decided to stamp on it. When I got there I was shocked to fine it wasn't a stag beetle at all, but this enormous long horn  Prionus coriarius the Tanner beetle.
The Tanner beetle is one of the UK's largest beetles and belongs o the family of long horns, it is a heavy set beast with serrated antennae and dark brown in colour. The larvae feed for 3-4 years on the roots of dead broad leaved trees. It is listed as very local, Nationally scarce A.
I am delighted it is a great long horn tick for me.
I have also added a shot of a female Silver-washed fritillary in my extras....she had her wings tightly shut, but it didn't seem to stop two male constantly harassing her - poor soul!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.