Meanwhile, at the coast..

By meancoast

On the shuggy boats......

......on my very first seaside holiday in 1954 at Whitley Bay (which was the destination of choice, when it wasn't Blackpool, for the folks of Haltwhistle at the time) and where I've ended up living for the vast majority of my life.....the experience obviously made a big impression! In fact I think I've got a very similar shot of me and the firstborn (except it's in glorious technicolor) just a mile or so south at Cullercoats beach circa 1980 lurking somewhere ;-) So, here's a question, do shuggy boats still exist.....or have they been seen off by elf'n'safety legislation?

EDIT :: Just added a tag to a 'larn yersel Geordie' mini series I did a few years back (thanks JohnEdward!)......y'know I might even revisit the territory ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.