Meanwhile, at the coast..

By meancoast

A stroll down memory lane........

.....on the way back from the bank this morning. So this was the late hubbies and my very first house.....it was the epitome of a doer-upper, plaster hanging off the walls, some wall mounted gas lamps still in situ, minimal electrics (vintage bakelite fittings), damp, dry rot, woodworm, victorian plumbing of the lead pipe variety, a wasps nest in that roof over the bay window and a major slug breeding facility under the kitchen floor.....I could go on! Quite how we managed to 'turn it round', mostly without the aid of builders, in 18 months whilst both holding down full-time jobs I have NO idea......though I do remember a LOT of very late nights (oh, and peeing in a bucket in the backyard, with only a cycle cape by way of privacy in my case, while we doing the plumbing!). 
Happily, I haven't been required to employ my, hastily-acquired, soldering and plastering skills since ;-) 
Nice to see that it's now lived in by someone with the same approach to gardening as mine.....they're obviously kindred spirits!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.