Land-and-seascapes

By tondrijfhamer

Halfway.

We left Ornans around 09.45 this morning. After our cabin was checked and okayed I filled up the car, bought a few bottles of water and some candy and off we went!
Goodbye Ornans, goodbye France!
Because it is a so called 'black Saturday' here in France today, with lots and lots of traffic on the roads, both South and Northbound, I double checked that my navigation system would advice us of alternative routes in case of traffic jams on our route.
That went perfect!

I soon noticed it kept us away from the highway. It kept on doing so until we came in the area of Nancy - Metz. It lead us perfectly through Luxembourg as well. A completely different route than I thought we'd take when I studied the maps yesterday. My plan was to go past Freiburg, Germany. Just as we did on our way here, two weeks ago.

All went perfect and we would arrive at our hotel around 15.00 hours and that was a bit too early. We paused in Echternach, Luxembourg for a while and had a refreshing coke at a terrace where we were surrounded by all kind of funny-dressed up people. I can't think of one word that could describe their style, but it made me think of the movie Waterworld.
Strange creatures.

When our cokes were gone we drove on to our hotel in Naurath, Germany. Eiffelland.
It turned out to be a small family hotel and beer brewery (Brauhaus Zils). We had a huge schnitzel and pommes for dinner and we all went to bed early.

Tomorrow the second half of our journey home is on the agenda.
Let's hope we get there safely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.