An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Happy New Year!

Backblipped 02.01.13

Happy New Year my lovely Blip Pals, wishing you all the very best of health, wealth and happiness in 2013.

We headed to bed just before 4am. Not bad going for a bunch of old fogies!

Hope you're all feeing fresh as a daisy today, like me plink plink fizzzzz. ;-))

Up, showered, dressed and downstairs by 12.30PM. Perfect time to get the full Scottish breakfast on the go. That Aga is worth its weight in gold! :-))

Agnes, Adrian and Emily headed off just after 2. Poor Agnes was on a back shift (she's a nurse). The rest of us had a pretty lazy day before getting ourselves tittivated up for the customary NYD dinner of steak pie. It was delish but we ate so much we were almost rolling away from the table!

Another evening of laughter and of course we did find room for dessert later in the evening. Proof that there really is no such thing as too much of a good thing!

I was determined not to get sentimental about the year just past, but I can't let it go without reminding myself of what a really momentous year it was in our lives, with me giving up work, the move from the area we have lived in since we got married 23 year ago to our new home and of course Alan's change of school. That was just as big an event as the move! Thankfully it all went well and without any effort whatsoever, we have all settled well and life just gets better and better.

So I want to start 2013 by saying how utterly thankful I am for all the good things in my life and especially thankful for family and friends (real and virtual) and the love, laughter, joy and sorrow we share. (There has to be a little sorrow to allow us to appreciate the joy:)

I'm not making any resolutions this year but I'm determined that each morning when I wake up I will take a minute just to remind myself how lucky I am and to give thanks.

Looking forward to continuing to share our Blip Journeys you lovely lot! xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.