Black Darter

Having gone for a one and a half hour drive to get two possible species I was pretty chuffed to get both. Both were in the regions of the car park although they really did take some stalking in different ways.

The Grayling butterfly which I'd come away from the Malvern Hills yesterday very disappointed not to see I found within minutes on the gravel directly in front of me at the Bog Mine. It is extremely well disguised being the exact colourings of the surrounding outcrops of rock near the old mines in Shropshire. 

Very well disguised Grayling in Extra. Getting the floor shot proved a bit tricky as they could only put up with me for so long getting up close and personal. I felt more like a rabbit at one point bouncing around the tracks!

Prettier Grayling nectaring on the brambles in Extra 2. 

The Black Darters which I'd seen round the pond a few times in previous years proved illusive and it was only on heading back to the car for a coffee that I saw a dragon land in the gorse. Gently ploughing through thankfully in jeans I managed to point the lens at her before she flew. She is remarkably similar to some other female darters and it wasn't till I got her on the computer all became clear - that I'd managed my quest! I do like her clear lines and vibrant colours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.