Harvey's Lilies

Dear Diary,

I didn't plant these Tiger Lilies.  They migrated on their own, with the help of a bird no doubt, across the road.  Harvey and his wife Marilyn lived across the street from me when I moved here 24 years ago.  I was very close to both of them.  She died in 2011 and Harvey had a stroke about 5 years ago and had to move into a nursing home.  I miss them very much but I'm blessed by having wonderful new neighbors.  I photographed Harvey with his lilies in 2009 for my book, First Person Rural: A Portrait of a Maine Town.  (Extra)  So when these lovely 'interlopers' bloom I think of him...memories for me in the garden.

John will be here today to work in the garden.  A lot of dead heading must be done.  Things are looking very dried up and brown too.  Horrible drought we are in and the garden is suffering but these lilies are doing well.  Harvey would be pleased.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.