Turning Point

Today was a blip turning point of sorts for me which I want to record.

As part of a conscious drive to start enjoying blip more, I've put a lot less time and effort into it this week. I was getting far too side-tracked with the popularity aspect and was starting to fret about whether images and posts were good enough for someone on the popular page.

After an appeal for advice on the forum I am delighted to say I am now back to being a very happy blipper just from the very simple act of blipping for me rather than you.

This simple little picture was taken on my phone early in the morning whilst trying to teach my favourite class (the Shell Tour Guides) how to do the 'Find Someone Who' activity. I find drawing little cartoon characters on the board is much easier than delivering spoken instructions and I always get a laugh when I attempt to draw the students themselves. From left to right is Maha, Ahmed,Yassir, Ali, Mazin, Basma and Mr David. (If you look closely you can see the real Maha in the reflection next to the door too).

Previously, I would have worried that an image like this was not good enough for my journal and so would have then spent the rest of the day trying to get an eye-popping stunner (photo that is, not Kate Winslet, Frieda Pinto or any member of Girls Aloud (except the ginger one maybe)) but today I thought bugger it, hence the turning point referred to in the first sentence.

I've all but dropped off the popular pages now but I am back to enjoying the act of blipping rather than getting stressed out about it. That's not to say that I don't like getting comments though (especially long ones) and to those who have continued to comment and stick around despite my 'fall from grace', you have my thanks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.