Almost too quick for me!

I got a surprise this morning when I went into the spare bedroom to talk to the cats, reclining on the beds as usual. As I glanced out of the window a red squirrel hopped over the new block wall, across the drive and into the cherry tree at the end of the house. I rushed for my camera and opened the big window in our bedroom - Mr Squirrel was larking about in the tree, making it hard to get any good pictures. 

Suddenly he jumped up on to the fence at the side of the deck, only a few feet away from the open window; sadly he saw me before the camera had time to focus so all I got was a ginger blur! I did manage a picture as he hopped up on to the pile of soil on my new flower bed; I've cropped it a bit so it's not as sharp as I would like, but it's OK. I love his stringy ear tufts!

Just after I sent this Mrs M called out to say that there was a hedgehog on the bank behind the house. Again I rushed out with the camera, but had to come back for a chair to stand on to see him over the edge! First one we've seen here! I took a couple of dozen pictures, but most of them were not sharp - too close for my telephoto, I think.  I've put the best of them on as an extra!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.