Ronniebofa

By Ronniebofa

A more mindful, flexible and strong me

Was persuaded to attend my very first Yoga class this morning. Was almost dragged into the studio by the instructor Shams ( not quite true; I’ve wanted to attend a yoga class but didn’t have the bottle to do it on my own volition so a bit of healthy coaxing was all that was required).
A year ago I would not have survived but lifestyle changes in terms of diet and exercise (and the loss of almost 95lb) has helped make me more flexible and toned muscles that I never knew I had. I still have major weaknesses in terms of co-ordination and balance and Yoga might help me address these. It will have the added bonus of guiding me to become more mindful and relaxed. I can’t expect the calorie burn from a yoga class that I get from Spin, Fit4Life and Cardio Dance classes but the wellbeing aspects of Yoga more than compensate for that.
Thanks to Shams for giving me the little push (encouragement) that was all that was required to get me into today’s class: I’ll be back next week if I can get a booking. (Immediately after the class I tried to book but no places available and I’m on waiting list). Yoga classes are extremely popular at the Peak and it is difficult to get bookings - I can now see why.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.