Ronniebofa

By Ronniebofa

No more plastic bags

Harvesting vegetables and herbs from the allotment is a daily occurrence to feed my healthy high vegetable low white (easy) carbohydrate diet. Some days I use upwards of six plastic sandwich bags for this. Although they can be reused once or twice they usually end up in the landfill waste bucket after one use being dirty and wet which makes storage and reuse difficult.

Thinking about this and what I could do to make my healthy lifestyle change ( in terms of diet and exercise) more environmentally friendly I decided to order some reusable mesh bags from Amazon. They arrived today in a range of shapes and sizes some of which are shown in the image. I can use these to harvest my produce which can be washed without removing them from the bags. After use a quick rinse and hanging up overnight they are as good as new and ready for reuse the next day. If I should need to buy vegetables from a shop or market stall I will take some of these bags with me and buy loose - no more prepacks for me.
To encourage customers to ditch the plastics could the supermarkets not have a promotion where some of these bags were given free or at a reduced cost to customers buying loose produce?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.