In The Pink

We got to the little local hospital early this morning and MrQ was waiting to be called for his appointment with a consultant when the fire alarm went off. It wasn't a false alarm, there was a fire in one of the loos so the whole building had to be evacuated. As we all milled around outside I spotted Sir Rod Stewart. Some wag suggested that he sing us a song. This would have been be appropriate. (I thought of Sir Cliff at Wimbledon.) "I was 'avin' me internal and told them I wasn't going anywhere without my trousers" a woman told me in Les Dawson-like tones. Medics in blue scrubs and consultants in sharp suits mingled with the halt and lame. The fire engine arrived and sounded its siren when it encountered a confused woman in a small white car negotiating the mini-roundabout by the entrance. The nursing staff were very kind to MrQ and brought him a bench to sit on. We were soon allowed back inside.

Ollie dog and I went for a walk with my daughter, granddaughter and Frankie dog. We met my daughter's mother-in-law and we all walked to the pub. My grandson arrived and we had a nice lunch with our good dogs at our feet. It's the first time Ollie and Frankie have been in a pub. 

My pic is a pink tinged meadow grasshopper. They're a bit unusual but not rare. I find them every year on the sunny bank between two blocks of glasshouses.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.