Merry in the morning

Two of my painting mates came here to paint with me today. I expected that Merry would disappear into that secret spot we haven't found as yet. No, she greeted them, took treats from them and played a bit with the toys they brought for her. I'm so happy about it. It's a very big step on only day 3 at Dogcorner. Adult cats like routines and dislike change.

We paint up in our loft, a spot she hasn't been allowed to explore yet. The loft means oil paint loaded palettes, physical dangers, like walking outside the railings on a narrow ledge, the narrow window sill on the big half moon window... all things cats love, but make their human companions gulp. So, see looked at us from below, tried many spots to get higher or to figure out how to get up there. There is a homemade cat flap, but I have locked it with a hook and eye at the moment. She finally gave up and slipped into her secret spot, not coming down when my pals left. I went upstairs on the bed to lure her out, she did appear, hopped up, stretched and nuzzled me and kneaded for a bit on my stomach. Then after a quick wash, she disappeared again. It's getting close to dinner time, she will present herself soon.

Speaking of dinnertime, she has the typical Abyssinian obsession with human food and is even more badly behaved than Miss Raspberry. She understood a firm NO most times. I think she may have to rest in her cozy carrier during meals. She must have been barred from the kitchen and dining area in her past home. That is the case for many Abyssinian food thieves, they are so doglike in their eating and stealing habits.


For the Record,
This day came in hot and humid, rain tonight, maybe.


All hands so happy about Merry's adjustment so far.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.