Wild Wednesday .....

.... Cooper's Hawk.

As I was finishing my coffee this morning I looked out the front window and was suddenly staring at this huge Cooper's Hawk. He/she was sitting in our birch tree, which is right outside the window.

Both of my cameras were downstairs so I grabbed R's camera and started taking pictures through the glass at first.  I wanted to chase him off so I opened the window.  When he didn't fly off right away I took some pictures through the open window.  

After getting my pictures I started yelling and clapping my hands to try to scare him/her off.  He/she wasn't moving .... he/she simply turned his/her head and looked at me!  Wow!  I was a little intimidated! I can only imagine how all the birds feel when he/she is around! It's no wonder they all fly away when he/she comes around!

I ended up having to go out the front door to scare him/her off .... but I was almost underneath him/her before he left our yard. I have added an extra of a full view of the hawk ... you can see his/her full size.  

The rest of my day wasn't quite as exciting.  I did some shopping and then spent the rest of the day at home.  It was extremely warm and humid today so I didn't spend much time outside. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.