First Monarch Cat ...

... of the season.

Team Monarch Cat was very late getting to the AOG this year. But this reporter couldn't be more thrilled that they have finally made an appearance.

I kid you not but this is the first monarch caterpillar that we have seen all summer.  There hasn't been that many butterflies on our back milkweed and every time I've seen one back there I go back to look for eggs but have come up empty so far.  Last year at this time we already had 20 monarch eggs/cats in our nursery ... with three already emerging.  This cat is actually the second one I found.  I found a smaller one on Wednesday and this one Thursday ... it's a bit bigger than the first. 

When you think about both the monarch cats surviving the tropical storm on Tuesday ... they are already AOG winners! Both cats are currently very happily munching away in our nursery ... as is an egg that I found this afternoon!  Well, the egg isn't quite eating anything just yet ... but it is in our nursery.  

Happy, happy day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.