Make Every Day Memorable

By Jorgiesmum

Brentor Church

It's been a mixed bag of weather for my day off but the sun shone at the key moments.
With no real plan, apart from to turn right at the end of the lane, I headed up across the moors in glorious sunshine. 
My first stop was to see the Highland cattle who, rather than roam the open moor along with sheep, other cattle and the famous Dartmoor ponies, are kept in a large field. I've seen them on several occasions but they have never been close enough to get a decent portrait. Today was different as they were resting close by the dry stone wall, chewing the cud. The girl in extra, was the only one standing and luckily, facing me.
Back in the car I noticed a pair of Wheatears flitting around. I've never seen them down here before but, as I've said recently, Blip has made me far more observant.
As I drove on towards Princetown and the notorious prison, the weather suddenly changed and the sky turned grey. This high part of the moor can be very depressing in such conditions but it's barren beauty was certainly attracting hoards of foreign tourists in their camper vans.
Carrying on west I dropped below the clouds and by the time I had reached Brentor, with it's 12th century church perched atop a rocky outcrop, the sun was out again. 
From the top I could see for miles. Plymouth to the south, Cornwall to the west, Exmoor to the north and Dartmoor behind me. 
Today the weather was being very kind but I imagine any past congregations would have struggled up the steep incline in all types of weather.
I've had a great day just pleasing myself where I go, how long I stay there etc. However, my back is complaining (very noticably) about carrying my heavy camera bag so much this week so no more gallivanting for a few days at least.
The weather is due to turn very stormy on Friday and Saturday so I certainly won't be tempted outside then.
All this weather talk is very appropriate for the wide Wednesday challenge hosted by BobsBlips (thanks Bob)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.