Land-and-seascapes

By tondrijfhamer

Balloërveld-sunrise

I got up at 4 am this morning for a sunrise shoot in Drenthe.
Heather is in full bloom now and I wanted to capture that during a nice sunrise. I picked up Peter at 4.30 and around 5.20 we were drinking a hot coffee at the carpark Galgenriet just next to the Balloërveld in Drenthe.

We walked into the nature reserve and started to look for nice compositions. As always with heather I find it very difficult to get a good balanced calm composition. Quite a struggle during these early hours.
At 06.01 the sun would rise, so we had a bit of a schedule.

I managed to get a few nice shots, but all and all I wasn't completely satisfied with the results. Well, that's part a of the game too. Can't win them all.

Todays blip hardly contains any heather, but I liked the sky and the tree in this one most, so that's why I picked this one. I do have shots with heather in it as well.

Once the light became just normal harsh daylight we walked back to the car. We then noticed we'd wandered of 3 kilometers. Quite a walk back through loose sand.
We then drove to Zeegse, to the Flechter Hotel were we had a very nice and huge breakfast. Great! We'd deserved that!

Around 10.00 am I dropped Peter off at his home again and I went back to mine. All and all a nice start of the day.

photo 2 on Instagram (with heather!)
photo 3 on Instagram (same tree)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.