Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

When I left here, sixteen months ago, I hoped to find a job that would bring me back to Greece; either in the tourist industry or for IKEA. That didn't happen and so I accepted the first job I was offered; making drawings of landfill sites and recycling centres in Britain. It didn't sound particularly stimulating but I have found that I enjoy the work and my team-mates, for the most part, are good company. I found a small apartment close to work which suits me well and so for the last ten or eleven months I have begun putting down new roots.

Because I am now beginning to settle into my new life, I felt that I was ready to close the door on my previous one, which is why I have travelled to Greece to shut down any remaining interests I have here.

I spent all of Monday and Tuesday dealing with business affairs in the main town on the island, 30km or so from the hamlet in which I am staying. Today I returned to the village just up the hill from here which was my home for thirteen years. The villagers are my friends and neighbours and I love them, but when I left I told nobody, I just slipped away quietly for the benefit of my estranged spouse who would need to continue living as the centre of attention of any ensuing village gossip. Best left to explain my disappearance in his own words.

I had no idea how my sudden reappearance would be met and so I climbed the hill on foot with a great deal of trepidation. I was overwhelmed! People rushed out of their shops calling my name and wanting to hug and kiss me. I honestly and truly had not expected that. Hug No 4 reduced me to tears.

This is the view from the apartment I am using while I am here. Lucky, lucky woman.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.