Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

After two years of being in denial I have finally conceded that hypertension is not simply “a phase I can rectify with better lifestyle choices”.

My local GP surgery is currently not allowing anyone in and so all face-to-face business has been transferred to the infinitely less convenient St Mary's Island. Therefore it was agreed at yesterday's telephone triage appointment that after work today I would walk to the distant surgery, pick up a prescription, pop it over the counter at the pharmacy opposite, and walk home again.

Happily, an hour before I finished work today I received a call from the distant surgery to ask if I would like them to send my prescription to my local Boots where it would be ready for me to collect in about an hour. Well that's handy then!

I realised I have not had a prescription since 2011 when I used to have to visit my local village pharmacy so that the pharmacist could give me an iron injection in the rear of the premises.

It feels weird collecting long-term medication dressed in a titchy sun-frock.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.