pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Robert the Bruce...........innit.

My travels have taken me to Aberdeen today for an enjoyable client meeting.

I felt the need for a bit of a stroll after a hastily eaten dinner and took myself down to Aberdeen Beach for a stroll along the esplanade and to gaze wistfully out across the North Sea. Plenty of vessels to be seen heading out towards the wind farms and beyond and the walk certainly blew the cobwebs away.

I headed back into the city for a stroll and ideally was looking for a decent film to watch at either of the cinemas. Finding nothing, I headed back to the hotel and came across this rather amazing looking granite building. It’s Marischal College and is apparently the second largest granite building in the world. Thank you Wikipedia.......

Anyway, outside this beautiful building is a statue of Scottish hero (legend); Robert the Bruce, which bizarrely took me back to my meeting earlier today. Insurance talk done, our conversation turned to Scottish independence and my companion was rather dismissive of the whole thing and said “Robert the Bruce is held up as a symbol and was an Essex-boy anyway”. As someone, Essex-born and raised, this was news to me and I filed it away to check out later and promptly forgot.

That is, until I saw the statue.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-46015580

Leave it ahhht.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.