BLEUET GEANT A FLEURS DOUBLES VARIE…..

….. in other words Centaurea cyanus….. or yet again, Blue Cornflower.

This is not just any old Cornflower though, but this is one that was brought back as a gift for me in a little seed packet, by a special friend, from the Garden of Claude Monet at Giverny.  At the moment, only two have germinated, but we are hopeful that more will come, if not this year, then next.

It is certainly a very pretty flower, but sadly I was unable to photograph it outside, as it is so windy today, so had to bring it indoors.  

I did over-expose it, and rather like it this way, but apart from that, which was done “in camera”, it is SOOC.  I don’t think I have ever looked at the middle of a Cornflower quite so closely, but it is really beautiful.

The men are cracking on with our carport and apart from the resin on the top, which will be done on Monday, weather permitting, think it will be completed today and it’s looking good.  They are being plied from both sides with bacon rolls, copious cups of tea and cakes, so they will probably be a few pounds heavier by the time they leave!

We have been invited out for a meal this evening to other friends, so there may not be much  commenting, but I will do my best.

Hope you all have a great weekend.

“I work at my garden all the time 
     and with love. 
What I need most are flowers, always. 
     My heart is forever in Giverny.”
Claude Monet

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.