Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Heather

Things are definitely much easier with Xena and her routine. We were woken up once last night and after a wee she slept through again. I have never left her alone yet so I need to start testing that, leaving her alone for 10 minutes, then 15 minutes and slowly increasing it so as not to cause separation anxiety as this breed is usually clingy and suffers from separation anxiety quite easily. Small steps and one thing to learn at a time. It is also very boring not being able to take her out for walks yet.

While she was sleeping later this morning, and with Luke on duty if she woke up, I quickly went to the heath as I wanted to see if the heather was in bloom - it was, and it looked beautiful covering the hillside in pink. I love heather, perhaps because the colours of heather are all my favourite colours, the pinks, purples, lilacs and magenta.

Xena is certainly getting accustomed to all sorts of noise. All week the neighbours have had people in to trim the 20 ft hedge that runs between our properties, and you know how noisy those industrial hedge trimmers are. Our gardeners also came today and she was fine with the noisy lawnmower and whirring edge trimmer. The breeder has also given me links to fireworks noises and other things that are usually upsetting for pets, so I will start playing all those noises so she gets used to them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.