flavia13

By flavia13

BEGONIA OR NOT TO BEGONIA

Hello all

A very quiet day for me today, I didn't sleep at all well last night so just didn't feel like doing too much today.  

A lovely evening yesterday at Waterstones In Kendal "in conversation with Rebecca Tope and Julia Chapman".  Lovely ladies both of them.  They've both written a lot of books, but the ones I'm interested are the murder mystery ones - "crime without grime" types.  I don't want graphics, just a good story, a puzzle and great characters.

Rebecca has written two series of murder mystery books - one based in The Cotswolds and the other In The Lake District.  I haven't any yet but on researching for this event I read the first two chapter of her first book "Windermere Witness" which I loved, so bought a couple and she kindly signed them after the event.  Rebecca's books are all based in real places.

Julia writes the Dales Detective series of books set in the fictional town of Bruncliffe (brun is old Norse/Viking for burnished) and is actually based on Settle where Julia lives.  All other places around Bruncliffe are real.  I've read the first one and loved it.  There are currently 5 and apparently there are only going to be 9.  so I guess I have quite a lot of reading matter to deal - along with the Catriona McPherson Dandy Gilver book next due out in November (based in Edinburgh) and Frances'  Brody's Kate Shackleton series based in Yorkshire in the 1920s and next one due out in October.  So much reading - yippeeeee - lots of escape then.

I did have a quick walk around the block though, with camera in tow, and saw this beautiful begonia with one single rain drop on it , and just loved the colour and it appeared to be sooo perfect - so as it's Flower Friday - blip sorted.  

My Aunt is due to arrive at Mum's sometime this afternoon, coming all the way from Suffolk.  So I'm wondering how their journey is going with all the terrible weather around.  Typical really. I was going to take them for a drive tomorrow but gales are forecast so not sure whether I will even make it to Mum's if that's the case.  I'm sure they won't mind they want to spend the day just talking and catching up with things anyway.

If it's not too bad I will pop over and may take them to Barton Grange - but it could be heaving so we'll see.   I would like to take Aunty B for a ride around the lakes on Sunday so she sees something of it after coming all this way.  Then sadly she goes back on Monday.  Her Granddaughter is bringing her and has to go back to work so can't manage any longer.  Such a shame when the they've travelled so far.  They won't be the only ones and events have already had to be cancelled so mustn't complain - it is typical British weather - especially The Lakes.

Thanks for dropping by I will now go and look at your blips, sorry I missed so many of them yesterday.  Take care all, hope you don't get caught out in the weather forecast and see you all tomorrow

Ooh I forgot to say this is my entry for Flower Friday.   Many thanks to Anna aka BikeBear for hosting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.