flavia13

By flavia13

YOU SILLY BEE YOU

Another emergency blip I'm afraid.  

My aunt from Suffolk made it yesterday OK, no hold ups, no problems.  They left Suffolk at 7.30am and were at my Mum's for 1.00 pm, just in time for lunch.  My Aunt's Granddaughter then went on to a B&B in Yealand Conyers very close to the New Inn Pub which, I believe, does excellent food.  The B&B owners were good enough to ensure that Aunty B's Granddaughter and Partner had a table reserved with the weather being so awful.

Very wet and windy in South Cumbria and Lancashire today but not the gales forecast,  thank heavens.  I understand Penrith and Carlisle and above though.  I hope Aunty B's Granddaughter managed to find something to do today she was so looking forward to coming this way as she's never been before.  She was going to Hilltop (Beatrix Potter's home) so don't know whether she made it or not.  

I took Aunty B to Barton Grange Garden Centre as I thought it safer to be somewhere indoors.  We then stopped off for lunch at The Lodge pub i Slyne-with-Hest (great place names aren't they).  A mixed story,  we had a bit of a wait so when Mum asked if it was going to be much longer the waitress apologised and to be fair knocked 10% off the bill.  Then the food my homemade steak and ale pie and Mum's Gammon were lovely, However Aunty B is a vegetarian and plumped for the Veggie burger.  It wasn't nice at all, cooked to much we think as it was very dry, she's also not convince it was veggie.  When the waitress asked Aunty B just said "it wasn't very nice really, overcooked she thought."  The waitress came back and said The Manager apologises and there would be no charge for her meal.  So I've got to give them credit for that.  So if you go just don't have the Veggie Burger.

Then had a look around Carnforth Heritage Centre and went home.

Meant to be a better day tomorrow so I'll take Aunty B on a car trip round the lakes.  Probably scoot up the M6 and down the A591, stopping off at some places on the way, such as Grasmere.  If roads look OK maybe go over to Coniston and back to Morecambe that way.  Nice long day out for them.  Wish me luck with that.  Such a shame as they go back on Monday.  So sorry for all those that had major events booked for this weekend - sadly that is typical British weather though.

Thank you for dropping by and reading my ramblings.  Hope you've all stayed safe and dry.  See you tomorrow.

Oh this is my entry for Silly Saturday - the bee on our balcony, looking happy despite the weather and hoping it makes you smile just a little bit!!! Thanks to Admirer for hosting.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.