Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

Todays chores at the greenhouse were to trim the coriander herbs we sell and bring them inside for replanting. They look really sad right now and selling them doesn't seem fair, so they are being replanted together two and two, or something like that. Then I had another chore which was to pick these flowers for bouquets. I picked a bunch, and took a lot of photos... I kind of get stuck taking photos when I'm in a small field of beautiful flowers with water droplets on them. My feet hurt so I finished early. I didn't pass this chore, so I'll ask for guidance next time. :D Can't get it right every time! 
I'm not sure what this flower is called in English. When I used Mr Translate he 'told' me that the English name is Marigold. But... marigold is the same as Tagetes, I've been told... So, what is right? The Swedish name is Ringblomma, and it has a rather sharp smell, both flowers and leaves, but Tagetes smells differently. A colleague of mine told me that she makes bodylotion of this Ringblomma. She extracts oil from both petals and leaves. When I pick them I get a sticky sensation on my fingers, that I need to use soap to get rid of. 
Before I went out to pick the flowers I put some mosquito repellant on. I have a special kind, bought in Lappland, up in the North of Sweden, when I did my fieldwork there, way back when... It smells like tar, so I smelled like a newly tarred boat mixed with a strong smell of coriander when I finished my day. :D
And then home to take care of my feet. I found tiger balm in a bathroom drawer and massaged it on my soar heel. Not sure it'll help, but I hope it does... 

Edit: Now I think the name is Calendula, could that be right?

As always, thanks Anni for hosting flower Friday! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.