DrSandy

By DrSandy

The ball

The first thing I noticed, as I pulled into the drive...............the ball.

I asked Mom, where it came from.

She didn't seem to know and then suggested it came from house behind the carport.  

Since returning it, was going to be difficult.  The easy approach would drop it behind the shed, where it might not be found.  And the other approach........was challenging.  I suggested she wait, until one of the little boys, was in the garden to return it. 

So Mom obeyed.  Yeah, right !

She did for 24 hours.  On Sunday afternoon, since there had been no activity, next door - she decided to return it.

SURPRISE ! SURPRISE !

She didn't lob it high enough - it got caught in the creeper.

I was reading inside, but knew something HAD HAPPENED, outside.  The next door dog, was having a wobbly and there was a lot of banging, enough to motivate me to look.

Mom was trying to tie sticks together to push it over.

OMG !

Visions of broken bones, flashed through my mind.

I HAD TO INTERVENE.

So I dragged the little step ladder out, balanced it at a 45 degree angle, on the incline to the garage.

Remember I said, returning the ball, through this spot, was going to be challenging. 

By this time, the dog was going NUTS.

Ladder and all, I still wasn't tall enough to reach it.  So I asked her to pass me one of the sticks, she had been trying to tie together........using this, I managed to push it over. 

PLOP !

The dog went silent, as the ball hit the ground.

SILENT ! 

We never heard a peep out of it, the rest of the afternoon.

I wondered if I had killed it.  Either with a direct blow to the head or possibly, it had a heart attack.  Eish !

It turned out to be neither.......

On Monday, Mom reported, both the dog and the banging of the ball against the garage wall, had resumed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.