ConstablePie

By ConstablePie

Vincenza by Massimiliano Pironti

Happy Birthday R. We always take our birthday off work and today after pressie opening we headed to the South Bank to see the Kiss My Gender at the Hayward Gallery. I wouldn’t recommend it as it was a bit odd and predominantly male.
However it was a lovely sunny day and we had lunch in the Skylon restaurant overlooking the Thames. Great service and delicious food. R had a melon soup that was really tasty.
We then walked over the river to the Portrait Gallery for the Portrait Awards. They had 40,000 entries from over 100 countries and we saw about 40 of them. This was my favourite, and got 3rd place. It was a full portrait but I was particularly impressed with the hands. I can’t believe the detail down to the chipped finger nails. They look like a photo, even close up, and the skill to be able to paint like this is incredible to me.
We finished a very relaxing and romantic day with the gang in the pub and more pressies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.