Lichens on the cemetery wall

I braved the elements timing my walk around the cemetery until the dark clouds had receded and a bit of intermittent sunshine brightened the afternoon.

I took the ancient path from Daisybank running down between the cemetery wall and the Spider Lane allotments. On the west facing wall of the cemetery these lichens have been growing for some time. Observing them however is better than watching paint dry although it may take some years to spot significant changes. 

I will have to ask John W. about them as he is quite an expert on botanical matters and loves to take stereoscopic photos of them at high magnification. Here he is showing me one of his pictures of a 'peristome'! Imagine what it might look like with 3D glasses on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.