Stroud cemetery from under a yew tree

I've been going for short walks as part of my recovery routine. The cemetery is sited on the hillside overlooking The Horns valley just a short distance away from our house, so it is the obvious place to go. It is also suitable for me as it slopes which enables me to get different angles for my legs to get used to walking along, as recommended by the surgeon.

Today's weather is very inclement with heavy rain last night and brief but intense downpours all this morning. I managed to choose a short gap in the showers to go around the church yard and to begin with there was some warm sunshine.

On my return downhill I felt some spits of rain and sheltered under a yew tree where this dark and dappled light appealed to me. I'd brought my little camera for the first time so I'm pleased to have had a chance to use it again. At home I tend to only use the big camera and that changes my whole approach to photography.

The cemetery and the graves are maintained by the town council's Green Spaces team who have a three year plan. It is a designated nature reserve and each part of the cemetery has a period where it is allowed to become wild, which I really like to see. This encourages a wide range of wildlife and glow worms are a particularly fine and welcome feature.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.