Luck of the draw

Today got the better deal. The morning had started with rain and luckily only distant thunder. The sun did, however, return at midday to make it a halfway acceptable day but the clouds did keep up their efforts.

By the time Luna & I went out for the evening swim and then walk, the last clouds were being blown away from the west and we could enjoy a very relaxing, pleasant time with the bonus that nobody was at our lake for the swim part.

Will be interesting to see how the farmers who still have standing wheat, cope with the coming weather which apart from tomorrow is going to be continually threatened by the odd shower and only moderate temperature.

Back around 1996 with a similar weather pattern, our then neighbour Sepp a farmer "forced" me to drive a tractor with two 8 ton trailers filled with damp wheat, to the grain merchants about 8km away to offload it there as they could dry it. The sky was full of potential thunderstorms and he told me that if I had to wait and it rained, I should manoeuvre the two trailers under overhanging roofs in the yard. One trailer would have been a challenge but two in tandem in reverse!

I eventually arrived at the very large yard only to find it packed with farmers with their trailers doing exactly the same. I have never prayed so much for a good hour or two that it wouldn't rain.

After the walk & looking forward to tomorrow, I then treated myself to a Strawberry Pimms using PYO frozen strawberries from June as ice cubes. Fortified by an excellent meal Angie had made, I slept well - very well.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.