Nose Work

I placed some Nose Work odors at a building site before our walk and when we came back, I let the boys search. First Gollum, then Hero and finally Biscuit got to find some easier hides (he is an old man and doesn't need the same challenges as the younger dogs).

Both Gollum and Hero worked really well, but both of them were obsessed with a corner, where I knew I hadn't placed a hide. I just couldn't understand what was going on. The scent does spread and travel in the surroundings, but I knew where I had placed the odor and the wind would have to blow in a really odd direction to send the scent to that corner. I was confused.

I helped Gollum find the nearest hide, which I had placed and rewarded heavily for that and then I guided him to leave the area. When Hero also started to show interest in that same corner and I wanted to do the same with him, I noticed a metal thing in his fur! OMG! He had a Nose Work scent box stuck to his coat! 

Someone had done Nose Work searches in the same area and forgotten a hide! Which my boys found!  Clever boys! Hero got a huge reward and Gollum had an apology, when I came back to the car! I should trust that there was scent in an area, when he shows it that clearly! 

The extra pictures show where the unknown hide was (marked with arrows) and the red circles show where I had placed odor. I think you can understand my confusion, when you see how far my hides were from where they alerted me to the unknown scent. 

So an unexpected surprise in the search, but nevertheless good training and an interesting experience. 

My main picture is Hero, who has found the odor. It is placed on the metal plate in the wall in front of him. 

Home to enjoy the live streaming from the Nordic Agility Championship. 

Happy Sunday, Blipland
Emmy and the Hazyland Boys

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.