Worried

I went back to work this morning, but rang the vet at 8 am as I had noticed a hard lump on Gollum's paw pad. The vet had time to see him at 3 pm and I managed 15 mins of walk first, so they had had a chance to go to the toilet.

Poor Gollum was sedated as we thought it was a some kind of foreign particle that could easily be removed. But it wasn't. In fact the vet has no idea what it is, but we want it removed ASAP so Gollum is booked in for an operation tomorrow morning. 

 At least the vet does not feel that it is malignant. Fingers crossed that he is right. 

Since Gollum was still very wobble, when we left the vet, another walk was not an option. We went home, so he could get to sleep in his own bed as soon as possible.

I had an extra hour of work, when we came home. And then I needed to re-schedule a lot of work appointments, so I can work from home and look after Gollum. 

I usually never do Nose Work at home - mainly because my boys are bred to love to work and if they think training indoors at home might be an option, they will never be able to relax completely. They will always hope, that I might do something with them. 

But I made an exception today. Gollum needed to sleep, but Hero was about to explode as all he had done all day was 15 mins of walk. So I put of 3 Nose Work hides in the kitchen and 1 in the bathroom. I let Hero find them. I then put up 3 new ones in the kitchen and 2 in the bathroom. Hero got to find the 3 in the kitchen, but when I wanted to let Biscuit find the last two, Gollum decided to join the party and he was really not in a state for Nose Work training, so eventually I gave up and bribed Biscuit with a handful of free treats. He accepted and everyone settled again. 

Hero's markings/alerts by the hides were super by the way, so that was great as improving them has been our Summer Holiday project. 

Now I am going to spend the rest of the day on the sofa with Gollum next to me.

Keep everything crossed for a successful and easy operation tomorrow.

My picture today is Gollum in the car, when we came home from the vet. He looks quite ok, but in reality he was still half asleep at the time. 

See you tomorrow
Emmy and the Hazyland Boys

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.