Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Verbascum nigrum

We bought this at Natural Surroundings several months ago - no idea what it would look like, but it was a verbascum (aka mullein) so we just went for it.  It's taken a while to flower, but now they are out, I think the flowers are really lovely.  Looking on Google, it would appear that what we have is the "alba" variety.  Google also tells me it is a "short lived perennial" so I'm hoping that it will come back at least one more year.

I've done a bit of gardening and a bit of ironing.  W has been really industrious in getting the new flower bed sorted.  We have areas needing grassing, which we were going to seed, but instead, he realised that it made sense to re-use the turf he was lifting, so he's been preparing the ground to lay it as well as lifting it.

Now I've collapsed in front of the computer with a gin, whilst he continues working in the kitchen preparing an evening meal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.