Kipsie

By Kipsie

Le grand mélange

or more commonly known in these parts as a gert big jumble of anything & everything from rotting apples to rusting cars. I had a message from Cassiesmum requesting a visit to the car graveyard, so off we went this morning. Me armed with a flask for hot beverages should we require them, a couple of carrier bags to park our bums on, & my trusty companion, the Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ30, Cassiesmum with her "proper" camera, tripod, & boots. I should have packed boots but they were up the allotment. DUH!!  Many of the vehicles are actually hidden underneath an ever increasing mass of brambles and other vegetation at this time of year but we still managed to find plenty to capture. We had a great time, a tad wet underfoot, the sun came out & I think we must have spent a good hour, possibly longer. Rust in buckets :) Then down to Teignmouth, a cuppa with Ian who is working on a property there, we loaded a couple of wooden raised bed structures into the boot of Cassiesmum' car, they certainly would NOT have fitted in my little Aygo, armed with a fully charged screwdriver, huge screws, & speedily cuts bracers we headed back to the allotment to unload. The end of a very productive morning.

Lunch with hubby then back up to the allotment to reconstruct and strenghthen the beds. Job done. Picked yet more beans.

Back home I set hubby a new task/activity, just to keep him busy. He whizzed off to borrow a drill with metal bits. I've been given some aluminium candle holders which I thought I might plant up and hang out side. I took some cuttings from a couple of African violet plants that hubby brought back from his sister backalong. He wanted me to make some new plants. Actually thinking about it I should have told him what to do and let hm get on with it. I might suggest making a few more today. A nice rainy day activity :) I'll let you know how it goes later. lol!! Potted on the agapanthus I've propagated from seed taken down at Yogi's garden in February.I'm very pleased with the results. 12 lovely strong plantlets. Okay, it could be years before they flower but the satisfaction is worth it. I've got Allium Bulgaricum/Nectaroscorum Bulgaricum seed collected from Mum's garden so I shall try those next. I love the blooms & they will go perfectly in my back garden. I know it looks a bit flowery now but my aim is to make it have a junglely feel eventually.
Down to Mum's in C.K for a home haircut, dropped hubby off at The Clays on my way.  £7 for my haircut is a whole lot better than paying salon prices which as my hair is so short I find hard to justify. I always give Tracey £10. Mum has hers cut as well. I cut hubby's hair, not entirely sure what I'm doing but it looks okay, the back is sometime a bit of a mess, but he can't see it. He had is last haircut by a barber in Turkey back at the end of May, prior to that I don't remember him going to a barber in this country for years.

Lamb & butter bean casserole, created with a mishmash  of freezer finds, with rice & garlic bread for dinner. Delicious!

Thanks to 60Plus for hosting

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.