Kipsie

By Kipsie

Cue the cues

They were a little slow in coming but we now have 7 cucumbers on the two plants in the greenhouse. I'd not grown cues before, not sure if I will again, but I have to admit they are lovely, juicy and crunchy. There again perhaps I will. I did'nt grow any tomatoes this year, although I intended to. At first I did'nt have room in the greenhouse, & after a hols it was a tad late. Hubby's not keen on tomatoes but I really enjoy Tumbler & Gardener's Delight. Next year I'll hopefully be more prepared.
What has been happening today, well first coffee for me, breadcrumbs for the birds. Sparrows, robins, & pigeons are welcome. Seagulls are not. They belong at the coast which was what I suggested when one cheeky devil landed in the garden this morning. Then a trip over to Cassiesmum to return the screwdriver I'd borrowed from Ian to reconstruct the raised beds. A noisy welcome from Stan, Jorgie & Cassie. Once they had settled we had a chat over a coffee. I took a look at her blip from of the Fallow deer at Powderham, & yesterdays Rover. I've not had time to check out Blips as I seem to leave my own Blip til late in the day. Talk of another adventure further afield then it was time to head back to the allotment. The road back into Chudleigh was closed so I had to detour around the Ugbrooke Estate. The young pheasant have been released, the lanes, hedges and perimeter wall, they were everywhere, no idea what to do so trotting down the lane in front of me for the best part of a mile. The thought of running one over ... :( so a trundled along patiently behind. I turned right, 3 of the pheasant in front of me did the same ... Poor things will end up being shot at later in the year.
A quick breakfast then to the allotment. Pulled up the baby sweetcorn plants, no cobs. I moved a wooden raised bed frame into place. Perfect!  I plan to plant carrots on the patch, maybe some Mooli as well. I like to experiment with unusual varieties, & I am familiar with Mooli as I bought it regularly from market when I lived in Thailand. Might even get some beetroot seed in. I know it's a little late but being down in the south west I think it will still be warm enough to get a crop. Did some weeding, my mission to eradicate bindweed from the plot is going quite well, apart from the mass that has wrapped itself around my gooseberry bushes.
Cassiesmum arrived with the redundant water tank that I'm going to use for my water reserve. Picked some beans, lifted a row of Charlotte potatoes, the tubers are very irregular in size which i was a tad disappointed about but I was able to lift them now we've had rain to soften the ground, and there were tubers. I should be grateful :) More courgettes, & a half punnet of blackberries, plus a huge red cabbage that Richard & Shirley had offered me. "Cut one any time". HUGE it is. I loved braised red cabbage with apple, onion vinegar & brown sugar. .... eaten with roast pork.
A late lunch . Time to sort out the front lawn. I scarified the bare patches, put on a a scattering of compost then grass seed, followed by firming down by treading on it. I must have looked very silly from the road, shuffling about behind the hedge. A freezer dip dinner. Pork mince + a part packet of Turkish kebab mix that I brought back from Turkey, chopped mushrooms, courgette, onion, garlic bound together with a beaten egg. Shaped into  kebabs, baked in the oven with oven chips plus flat bread. What else can I make with courgettes which hubby has told me he does'nt like .. Great! I had a eureka moment. I made Courgette pok pok.  Papaya pok pok (Som Tam) is a Northern Thai spicy salad made with green papaya, dried shrimp, onion, tomato, peanuts in a Thai fish sauce, lime juice, fresh chilli, &  palm sugar dressing. I subbed the papaya for shredded raw courgette, added chopped walnuts & chunks of homegrown cue. Husband loved it.. Does'nt realise it was made with raw courgette. lol!!! RESULT :) Perhaps I won't have to make more chutney after all.

Thanks to Nickimags888 for hosting

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.