Kipsie

By Kipsie

A rainy day project

This re-purposing idea had been on the back burner for long enough, well virtually since the day last Summer when I wore this charity shop purchased jacket to a wedding. Not a jacket or style I was likely to wear ever again so I could I either put it in the charity bag or make it into a cushion cover. Well, the allotment, dog/housesitting, DPHT .. all took presidence until today, a wet day perfect for indoor jobs.I do enjoy sewing but have to be in the mood.  I ignored/overlooked the ironing pile and went for it. What I thought would be a quick run up with the machine actually took far longer as I had to juggle the cut pieces to fit.

Lunch was an experiment too. I had a pack of hot dogs open, with only a sliced brown loaf it was time for some improvisation. 43 years ago while living in Sweden I bought a  knäckebröd rollingpin. For some reason I cannot go back to the normal text .. hey ho!!!  I quickly fried some sliced onion until soft,  rolled out the slices of bread until they were nice and thin. Added some American mustard, tomato ketchup & fried onion, popped the hotdog at a jaunty angle on top, rolled them up from corner to corner, fixed with a cocktail stick, plonked on an oven sheet, squirted with oil spray then baked in a hot oven for 15 minutes ... Proper job!
Back to the cushion making. We were planning to go into Newton Abbot in the afternoon but that did'nt materialise. Eventually finished the cushion cover, after reducing the size of a cushion pad just as it was cider 'o clock. Phew!


Dinner was pan fried wild duck breast with a Blackberry gin & blueberry sauce, homegrown runner beans, freshly lifted Charlotte potatoes, & carrots with a walnut crumb sprinkled on top. Another first. I do enjoy experimenting in the kitchen.



Watched The Unforgotten on tv



Thanks to BobsBlips for hosting

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.