Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

A little light on the subject

I made myself walk out to the mailbox this morning with one crutch. A little discouraged as I tried to walk with my hiking pole with the rubber tip in the house just to see if I could but it was just not going to work today. My impatience and type A can-do ego rearing its head. So the crutch it was.

When I turned around to make the return to the house this happened. The light was just for me! A sign of encouragement!

Okay, I got the message. Just one day at a time. It has been seven days since the cast came off. Slowly but surely I will get back to walking. Be patient!

I decided I needed a higher heeled shoe with more support on the right foot so put on one of my older hiking boots. What a difference a higher shoe makes in the step and limp process. AND I walked about ten steps without any support!!!! Baby steps but it definitely felt more natural! Much less pressure on the booted foot when each foot is close to the same height!


What started out as a crappy mood ended up being a big happy smile.

All it took was a little light on the subject!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.