WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

The least photographed building in Begur

In one of my early Begur blips, I mentioned the preponderance of ironwork in this area: windows, doors, railings, fences, lanterns, sculptures ... it's everywhere! I noted that in Begur there is even an entire building made of iron, which I innocently described as "blippable".

Well, since that day I have made a number of visits to that building at different times of day, in different lighting conditions, and tried photographing it from every conceivable angle. Normally I like photographing buildings, but I have concluded that the architect is talentless, and it is the ugliest and least photogenic building I have ever encountered. Quite an achievement in a town full of beautiful architecture. Still, on my last full day in Begur, I wanted to blip something here that I haven't blipped before. So here it is, in all its unblippable glory -- judge for yourself :)

The building is not just ugly, it is also completely impractical. Rumour has it that the architect designed it, then hawked the project about till he found a town council crazy enough to pay for it. It's a leisure centre for young people, and is set in what used to be a lovely green area full of trees (the Parc de l'Arbreda, which means "grove" in Catalan). People used to come and play, stroll, and picnic there. Because the building is constructed entirely of metal and glass and the architect took no account of the climate, it's freezing cold in winter and stiflingly hot in summer. In the play area outside, there are seats, also made of solid iron. Imagine the pleasure of sitting on them when they are a) icy cold, or b) hot enough to burn your legs, especially if you are wearing shorts. Apparently the council is deliberating about what it should do with this little-used rusty elephant.

Today's entry marks my calendar year on Blipfoto. Time for the thanks speech -- especially to the people who have followed my journal and encouraged me with their comments and constructive criticism. To a very large extent, it's this community that has kept me going: I've drawn inspiration from other blips, and the fact that people commented on my blips gave me a reason to keep posting. Thanks to everyone who commented and/or gave stars and hearts for yesterday's entry -- my most commented ever -- which made it to Spotlight and, amazingly, is still there nearly 24 hours later! Special thanks, in no particular order, to frequent commenters chaiselongue, TickyTocky, bundle, Arachne, SooB, Digpan, Chamaeleo, KarenC, and LocalFoodLover. And, for being inspiring, earthdreamer, PaulFS, RichieBoo, bittersweet, kendallishere ... and too many others to name!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.