Boar-ing!

Over to the Folks today. Mt Dad asked me to call at the butchers' I walk past on the way to the station to pick him up a bacon joint (as not many butchers sell them any more, apparently!) and some Gluten Free sausages. 

They didn't want to sell me a bacon joint either to begin with, until I explained that he wanted it to make a stuffed chine - which is what they keep theirs for! Then they let me have one. They were surprised anyone still made their own. It probably is a dying art - I wonder how many people under 50 even still eat it?

I used to love it, with loads of vinegar on. Where I grew up, there was an annual Chine Supper and dinner dance. As a teenager I (along with others) ended up with food poisoning after one of those, and I've never touched stuffed chine again! Two days' projectile vomiting of parsley will do that to you I guess!

It was quite heavy to carry everything, but I made it to my folks' just as it started raining. And once there, I managed to dangle the sleeve of my hoody in a bowl of potato peeling water. It was still raining heavily when it was time for me to go home, but I had to wear the wet hoody! Fortunately I had a brolly in my bag too!

This photo was taken on my phone, in the butchers'. I don't know if it's real, but it sure looks it!

Time for a coffee now, before work!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.